LIMERICK senior hurling manager John Kiely has named 13 of the team that started last year’s All-Ireland Final for Sunday’s Munster SHC game with Waterford at Semple Stadium, Thurles.

Into the team come Cian Lynch and Peter Casey with Mike Casey and Graeme Mulcahy dropping to the subs bench. Declan Hannon and Kyle Hayes also return to the team from the league final win.

Nickie Quaid is named in goals behind a full back line of Sean Finn, Dan Morrissey and Barry Nash. Current hurler of the year, Diarmaid Byrnes is alongside Hannon and Hayes in the half back line, while William O’Donoghue and Darragh O’Donovan form a strong midfield partnership.

Lynch makes his first championship start since Limerick’s game with Waterford in the 2022 Munster Round Robin in the half forward line with Gearoid Hegarty and Tom Morrissey.

Peter Casey returns to the starting championship team since Limerick’s win over Cork in the 2021 All-Ireland in the full forward line with Seamus Flanagan and Peter Casey.

Jamie Power, Ronan Connolly and Donnacha Ó Dálaigh could all make their Limerick championship debuts from the bench.

The panel for the game that has a 2pm throw-in on Sunday is as follows:

LIMERICK: Nickie Quaid (Effin); Sean Finn (Bruff), Dan Morrissey (Ahane), Barry Nash (South Liberties); Diarmaid Byrnes (Patrickswell), Declan Hannon (Adare), Kyle Hayes (Kildimo-Pallaskenry); Darragh O’Donovan (Doon), William O’Donoghue (Na Piarsaigh); Gearoid Hegarty (St Patrick’s), Cian Lynch (Patrickswell), Tom Morrissey (Ahane); Aaron Gillane (Patrickswell), Seamus Flanagan (Feohanagh-Castlemahon), Peter Casey (Na Piarsaigh).

Subs: Jamie Power (Monaleen), Conor Boylan (Na Piarsaigh), Mike Casey (Na Piarsaigh), Ronan Connolly (Adare), Colin Coughlan (Ballybrown), Richie English (Doon), Graeme Mulcahy (Kilmallock), Barry Murphy (Doon), Donnacha Ó Dálaigh (Monaleen), Cathal O’Neill (Crecora-Manister), David Reidy (Dromin-Athlacca).

From the Limerick Leader

« »