LIMERICK have named an unchanged team for Sunday’s All-Ireland senior hurling championship final. However, 2021 Hurler of the Year Cian Lynch misses out completely due to injury – the Patrickswell man is not named on the 26-man matchday panel. Lynch ended a 10-week spell on the sidelines with a hamstring injury when introduced as a sub in the semi final win over Galway but picked up a fresh foot injury since.

Lynch’s place among the subs is taken by Barry Murphy, who hasn’t played for Limerick since last year’s All-Ireland final. The Doon man suffered a cruciate ligament injury within weeks of that Liam MacCarthy Cup title win.

With no Lynch, John Kiely and his selectors have given a vote of confidence to the side that started the semi final win over Galway two weeks ago.

Eleven of Sunday’s team are set to start their fourth All-Ireland SHC final in five years.

Limerick’s team to play Kilkenny features 13 of the team that started last year’s final – All-Stars Lynch and Peter Casey replaced by Mike Casey and Graeme Mulcahy.

The team is captained by Adare’s Declan Hannon.

LIMERICK: Nickie Quaid (Effin); Sean Finn (Bruff), Mike Casey (Na Piarsaigh), Barry Nash (South Liberties); Diarmaid Byrnes (Patrickswell), Declan Hannon (Adare), Dan Morrissey (Ahane); William O’Donoghue (Na Piarsaigh), Darragh O’Donovan (Doon); Gearoid Hegarty (St Patricks), Kyle Hayes (Kildimo-Pallaskenry), Tom Morrissey (Ahane); Aaron Gillane (Patrickswell), Seamus Flanagan (Feohanagh-Castlemahon), Graeme Mulcahy (Kilmallock). Subs: Barry Hennessy (Kilmallock), Conor Boylan (Na Piarsaigh), Peter Casey (Na Piarsaigh), Aaron Costello (Kilmallock), Colin Coughlan (Ballybrown), Richie English (Doon), Robbie Hanley (Kilmallock), Barry Murphy (Doon), Cathal O’Neill (Crecora-Manister), Oisin O’Reilly (Kilmallock), David Reidy (Dromin-Athlacca).

From the Limerick Leader.

« »