LIMERICK are 2021 Munster senior hurling champions – ending an 85 year wait to win three successive provincial titles.

Limerick trailed by 10-points at half time but turned it around to win by five points.

The final score in Pairc Ui Chaiomh Limerick 2-29 Tipperary 3-21 as Limerick won a first Munster SHC three-in-a-row since the men in green ruled the province between 1933-36.

Onwards now to a Saturday August 7 All-Ireland SHC semi-final in Croke Park – a fourth successive semi-final appearance.

This was certainly a final of final of two halves!

At half time Tipperary were 10-points clear with goals in the opening minutes of the first and second quarter. They flew from the traps and were rewarded with the ideal tonic of a fourth minute goal from Jake Morris.

In the opening half they ran Limerick ragged but the men in green were well off colour with poor handling, poor decision making and a lack of accuracy in passing and shooting for scores.

The game wasn’t seven minutes old and The Premier County were 1-3 to 0-2 ahead with Tom Morrissey and Seamus Flanagan getting the Limerick scores.

Cian Lynch and Peter Casey had successive points but Jason Forde was soon up to five points from play as the men in blue and gold maintained a four point lead.

However, the second half, one of the greatest spells of hurling ever, saw Limerick storm back to win three in a row.

Read the full article in The Limerick Leader.

Jerome O’Connell:

« »